Researchers

IRTG researchers…

at the University of Münster

Prof. Dr. Xiaoyi Jiang Institute for Computer Science, Einsteinstrasse 62, D-48149 Münster xjiang@math.uni-muenster.de
visit homepage
Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, Information Retrieval
Prof. Dr. Otto Klemm Institute for Landscape Ecology, Robert-Koch-Straße 26-28, D-48149 Münster Otto.Klemm@uni-muenster.de
visit homepage
Climatology, boundary layer meteorology, vegetation-atmosphere exchange processes
Prof. Dr. Werner Kuhn (Speaker) Institute for Geoinformatics, Weselerstr. 253, D-48151 Münster kuhn@uni-muenster.de
visit homepage
Semantics of Geospatial Information, Semantic Interoperability
Prof. Dr. Edzer Pebesma Institute for Geoinformatics, Weselerstr. 253, D-48151 Münster edzer.pebesma@uni-muenster.de
visit homepage
Computational Modeling of Spatio-temporal Processes
Prof. Dr. Angela Schwering Institute for Geoinformatics, Weselerstr. 253, D-48151 Münster angela.schwering@uni-muenster.de Spatial Cognition, Qualitative Spatial Reasoning

at the University of Bremen

Prof. Dr. John Bateman FB10 English Department, Applied English Linguistics, D-28359 Bremen bateman@uni-bremen.de
visit homepage
Formal Ontologies of Language and Space
Prof. Christian Freksa, PhD FB3 Mathematik – Informatik, Cognitive Systems, D-28359 Bremen freksa@informatik.uni-bremen.de
visit homepage
Spatial Cognition, qualitative spatio-temporal relations
Prof. Dr. Bernd Krieg-Brückner FB3 Mathematik – Informatik, Programming Languages, Translators, and Software Technology, D-28334 Bremen bkb@informatik.uni-bremen.de
visit homepage
Formal methods and languages, formal ontology, navigation, cognitive robotics, secure systems
PD Dr. Till Mossakowski FB3 Mathematik – Informatik, D-28334 Bremen till@informatik.uni-bremen.de
visit homepage
Formal methods, multi-logic systems, hetero-geneous specifications
Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schill FB3 Mathematik – Informatik, Cognitive Neuroinformatics, D-28359 Bremen kschill@informatik.uni-bremen.de
visit homepage
Cognitive agents, knowledge-based systems, representation and processing of spatial and spatio-temporal information

at the University at Buffalo

Prof. Dr. Rajan Batta Department of Industrial Engineering, 342 Bell Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260 batta@acsu.buffalo.edu
visit homepage
Operations research, production systems, routing, facility location
Prof. Dr. Ann M. Bisantz Department of Industrial Engineering, 342 Bell Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260 bisantz@eng.buffalo.edu
visit homepage
Human-machine systems, human decision making, human factors, cognitive engineering, system design
Prof. Dr. Thomas Bittner Departments of Geography and Philosophy, 135 Park Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-4150 bittner3@buffalo.edu
visit homepage
Bioinformatics, formal ontology, qualitative spatial, temporal, and spatio-temporal reasoning, approximate reasoning, vagueness and indeterminacy, geographic information systems
Prof. Dr. Irene Casas Department of Geography, 105 Wilkeson Quad, Buffalo, NY 14261 icasas@buffalo.edu
visit homepage
transportation networks, GIS design, application and database design, artificial intelligence
Prof. Dr. D. Scott Mackay Department of Geography, 105 Wilkeson Quad, Buffalo, NY 14261 dsmackay@buffalo.edu
visit homepage
Ecohydrology, land surface hydrology, hydrologic and ecosystem modeling, GIS, remote sensing
Prof. Dr. David M. Mark (speaker) Department of Geography; Director, Buffalo site, NCGIA, 105 Wilkeson Quad, Buffalo, NY 14261 dmark@geog.buffalo.edu
visit homepage
geospatial ontology, spatial cognition and language, cross-cultural studies of geographic categories
Prof. Dr. Chris S. Renschler Department of Geography, 105 Wilkeson Quad, Buffalo, NY 14261 rensch@buffalo.edu
visit homepage
GIS analysis and modeling techniques, environmental modeling, extreme events, scale, decision support
Prof. Dr. Stuart C. Shapiro Department of Computer Science and Engineering, 201 Bell Hall, Buffalo, NY 14260-2000 shapiro@cse.buffalo.edu
visit homepage
Computational understanding of human-level cognitive abilities, especially natural-language use, reasoning, and rational acting; semantic networks
Prof. Dr. Narushige Shiode Department of Geography, 111 Wilkeson Quad, Buffalo, NY 14261 nshiode@buffalo.edu
visit homepage
Locational optimization, spatial temporal analysis, 3D visualization, urban planning and decision support systems, cyberspace geography
Prof. Dr. Barry Smith Department of Philosophy, 135 Park Hall Buffalo, NY 14260; and IFOMIS, Univ. of Saarbrücken phismith@buffalo.edu
visit homepage
Formal ontology, ontology development, biomedical ontology, biomedical terminology, geospatial ontology, social ontology, cognitive ontology
Prof. Dr. Ezra B. Zubrow Department of Anthropology, 466 Richmond, Buffalo, NY 14261 zubrow@buffalo.edu
visit homepage
Anthropological and Archaeological theory and method, social policy of heritage and disability, ecology, simulation methods, demography